Need a tough 18650 light for work

Dragonfueled

Newly Enlightened
Hi guys, I'm a mechanic and go through lights about every 3 months. I've been using quark tactical lights but after 3 new heads I've decided they just can't take the abuse of Being a mechanic lol.
They just get dropped and banged around allot.
I had an inova x5 forever but it's not bright enough and I want 18650 batteries. Any ideas? I was thinking about going back to a fenix but figured I would ask my led gods first. Thanks in advance, I'm lost without a good light.

hotlight

Enlightened
toughest 18650 IMO would be a malkoff MD2.... add a Hi/Lo ring if you need dual modes.
The MD2 really is a awesome work light. All the parts are replaceable(and "user serviceable") and the lens is "plastic".(lens won't break)

beach honda

Enlightened
I'm a mechanic and for work, most of the guys use a rechargeable stinger light. But being a flashaholic, the snap on truck does not cater to my needs. Therefore, I use Barry Milton bored surefire c2 with a malkoff drop in and 18650 aw battery.

EZO

Flashlight Enthusiast
You really couldn't go too wrong with an HDS.

HDS.jpg

Dragonfueled

Newly Enlightened
Wow the hds is nice but I really want 18650. Need a glass lens cause plastic gets messed up with chemicals. I seen the stingers lol my shop is full of them. Kinda big for my taste. Gotta be something out there .

kramer5150

Flashaholic
-Solarforce L2
-Replace the tailcap with a Surefire Z41 with over-ready zero resistance upgrade like in my avatar (no switch to fail).
-Pick the Malkoff drop in of your choice.

Solid setup with AW protected 18650 cells. The strike bezel will help protect the glass lens from impacts. The L2 has anti-roll features built into the bezel so your light won't be rolling all over the garage floor.

Last edited:

PoliceScannerMan

Flashaholic
I would go with a bored 6P, with clicky switch, and get a High CRI M61L from illuminationsupply.com