Question regarding Fenix lights

eloreno

Newly Enlightened
Hello all!
This is my first post as I'm just getting into led flashlights. I'm a regular on a lot of the knife forums so I'm familiar with the format.

Well I think the flashlight bug has bitten! Last week I bought a Fenix LD01 to carry at work. I fell in love with that little light and had to get a bigger one. By the end of last week I had already ordered a highly recommended, (from what I can gather) Fenix PD31. I got it in on Monday and was instantly impressed with its size and relative brightness. I got into knives real heavy, and quickly acquired many quality knives from SAKs to Sebenzas. I probably bought 60 in less than a year. I have a feeling the flashlight addiction will compare directly. We'll see where I'm at in a year!! :devil:

To get to the point, I was playing around with the LD01 and the PD31 at the same time, :D and noticed that the LD01 seemed to have a much whiter light. While the PD31 maybe a slight green tint. I have researched and not been able to find wide spread complaint about the hue of the PD31. (I didn't even know about hue two days ago!) I was under the impression these two lights used the same LED so I'm a bit confused. :confused:

Below is the best picture I could get comparing the two. Hopefully it shows what I'm getting at............

PD31 on the left........... and the LD01 on the right:

DSC_2518.jpg

Thoughts are more than welcome, as I'd like to see if this is something normal, or if I should try and get the PD31 replaced. Etc, etc, etc.

Thanks in advance for the help!
I look forward to learning and spending on this bright new hobby!! :devil:

Haesslich

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'll let one of the experts explain the details, but I'll give you a few pointers. Also, welcome to the forums.