Quark "X" 123² Tactical Take Rechargeable Batteries?

flashnoob

Newly Enlightened
I am very new to the quality flashlight world and this is my first thread in CPF. I just recently purchased a Quark "X" 123² Tactical and I absolutely love this light! I can tell that this will be the first of many in a new addiction of things to spend money on. I have researched what I am about to ask quite a bit and cant seem to find my answer. That doesn't mean my answer is not out there it just means I am new to this forum and forums in general and may not know the best way to look. I know that my flashlight takes 2 CR123's. What I want to know is can it take 2 RCR123's? Or an 18650? Or a 17670? If it can take any of these rechargeable batteries what are the ups and down to using them as opposed to the typical CR123? Any advice you experienced flashaholics can offer would be very much appreciated.

tobrien

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have the exact same light man, I feel the same way, this light is amazing!!!!

to answer your question:

2x RCR123s: yes
1x 18650: not really. 4sevens used to make our lights to accommodate 18650-sized cells, but they stopped for some reason. you could mod it though but it wouldn't be worth the trouble I'd imagine.
1x 17670: yes, I've been meaning to order some AW 17670s to use, but a lot of people here have done that. it's a lower voltage than two 123s, but it has a longer runtime I believe. apparently, though, it's a bit of a tight fit, so you may or may not have to remove the sticker/label.

i hope this helps! enjoy that X! I love mine to death!

flashnoob

Newly Enlightened
It is an awesome light! I'm already trying to find my second light and there are way too many choices out there! Thanks for the quick reply it helps tremendously.

louie

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have the untactical version, and use AW17670 cells (the fit is fine) and the 4Sevens charger.