Maglite 3 D drop ins

marcl

Newly Enlightened
Hi all, I know this is probably one of the most asked questions on here but, what is the best drop in unit for the 3D mag? The last time I looked it was the Terralux, but I do remember it having mixed reviews. However I have since heard there has been a few new drop ins, Fusion 36 and TTS-3WCR45 (and theres two of them 180lm and 200lm) does anyone have any recommendations? I want to spend as little as possible, so £15 is about enough.

Now before anyone says get a new torch for the £15, I have lots of them Lenser P7, P3, Mag AA with a terralux drop in and a cyba-lite explorer. But that fact is I still consider the 3D to be a real torch. Flawed in many ways, but a real big torch and therefore I feel I must upgrade it.

Thanks in advance.

Oh on a side note I did try to search but I don't seem able, probably because i'm a newbie.

dougie

Enlightened
I'm surprised no one else has replied already? Anyway, nothing wrong with using a 3D Mag as a host. Terralux are OK and although there have been reports of the odd dud one the majority are very serviceable. I've got two in a couple of Mags and so far no problems. Of course the real problem is that the Terralux isn't sitting in an ideal heatsink and so the output is not brilliant. It's better than a stock incandescent bulb and normally way more reliable but not a fantastic leap in output. In addition unless you modify the reflector you will still suffer from artefacts and rings in the beam.

I've edited this post to include a web link for a drop in for the Mag which is available in the UK. It meets your price point but as I've never used the company or have that particular drop-in I can't say a lot about it's performance or longevity. However, as it is pretty cheap is it worth not trying it?

Here is the link: http://www.thetorchsite.co.uk/TTS-3WCR45_CNC_XPG-R5_LED.html

Last edited:

marcl

Newly Enlightened