calculating how many hours it SHOULD take for a battery to finish charging?

tobrien

Flashlight Enthusiast
So I'm the proud new owner of two new MNKE Li-ion IMR 3700 mAh cells (26650) and I am charging them from at about 500mA on a USB charger and about 600 mA on another charger. I started charging them at about noon an it's about four hours later now and they're still charging.

I know nothing's wrong with the cells, but I'm really just curious as to how I can calculate how long a full charging should take. is it simply:
Code:
3700 milliamp hours
------------------
500 mA

= 7.4 hours

is that how you calculate that stuff? that's really all I'm asking, but I'm no Electrical Engineer so I wanted to ask haha.

thanks!

USSR

Newly Enlightened
how are u charging with usb ?
u have shown theoratical values.. real values will differ significantly during the initial charge phase and the ending charge phase..

also if u calculate the time to be 7.4 hours give it some 20% more time as charger inefficency..
so 7.4+.2*7.4=X is the time it will take for full charge from full empty..

also have a good voltmeter at hand. without it u may not be able to ensure either saftey ...

buy a cheap dt830d multimeter and use it.. ur liion battery is charged when its terminal voltage under no load is 4.2 volts.. and this voltage is maintaned for almost half an hour..
see data sheets of various liion cell from sony.etc..

HKJ

Flashaholic
Code:
3700 milliamp hours
------------------
500 mA

= 7.4 hours

This estimate will always be to low, the actual charge time will be longer due to the CV phase, probably about 0.5 hour.
If the charger is less than perfect CC/CV voltage, the time will also be longer (Some chargers reduces the charge current, before the CV phase is reached).

QuePsi83

Newly Enlightened
how are u charging with usb ?
u have shown theoratical values.. real values will differ significantly during the initial charge phase and the ending charge phase..