A newbie with toys he doesn't understand yet :)

TinkerJim

Newly Enlightened
So I work in the auto industry, and regularly have access damaged headlamps that are to be thrown away, which just so happen to be housing drivers and high-output LEDs that are undamaged. What started with a long-time childhood obsession with playing with LEDs, has now led to an entire box full of strip LEDs, high-output heatsink mounted, and more goodies than I know what to do with.

I have avoided some questions by doing some homework reading here in the forums, so please excuse any ignorance :)
Thus far I have stripped an old "Coleman" lantern and used a 16 LED Strip to make a low powered lantern that runs on 4 AAs, turned some PVC into my "manlight" with focal lenses and a 2" PVC repair coupling.

At this point I don't understand much about the input/output and power regulation for safe/efficient usage of these LEDs as the auto manufacturers that "supply" my lighting needs have figured all of this out for me. The problem I am running into is that the boards that some of these drivers/resistors are mounted to don't necessarily allow me to create the more visibly appealing torches I'm looking to construct with these LEDs.

My question is more of a request for direction to mandatory beginners reading, and the easiest way to identify the LEDs that I have. Most of them are already mounted on heat sinks, and come with larger heatsinks that the LED heatsinks are connected to. The problem I am running into is simply identifying the specific LED Component that I am working with so that I know where to start when dissassembling these 2"x3" boards in order to stream-line their space usage. Basically all I know is that they blind the heck out of me when connected to 4 AAs.

I hope I don't sound too newbish, just looking to learn and build!

TinkerJim

Newly Enlightened
Do you have pics and/or specs?

:D