Canister Dive Light

Atanasovski

Newly Enlightened
Hi everyone,

this is my first attempt on a canister dive light, and it turned out ok so far, with some difficulties. Please excuse my lack of knowledge below, I'm new to building led lights myself, and I really like it, and enjoying the process a lot.... I must thank Hector for all his help without his suggestions and parts I would not have been able to complete this light.

I have used a triple drop-in xml module from dx and it shines ok, but I think I need a new driver in order to get the maximum out of those XMLs. The battery I used is a 9.9V LiFePo, 4500mAh, and it looks like it will drive these leds for a long time. Haven't tested it yet. If anyone can suggest a driver that I can replace one from the module, I would be grateful.

Also I measured the current inline between the module and the taskled switch that I used, and it shows like the leds are getting 0.42A which was really weird. It's possible that I'm measuring the current wrong. :)

I'm planning to take this setup without the electronics (battery driver and switch) to my next dive, probably to 40-50m, to see if it will leak anywhere. I'm worried about those o-rings I've used on the connectors to the mag and the canister. I'm wondering if I should just glue the connectors with silicone to avoid leaks.

Daniel

image-1_zps226e01e6.jpeg

image-7_zpsa9bf1bea.jpeg

image-4_zps4ea3319c.jpeg

image-3_zpse376e0f3.jpeg

Klem

Enlightened
Nice settup Daniel.

Can I ask, where is the switch? Is it magnetic inside the Otterbox.

Otterbox rates their boxes to 100ft (33M). I've never gone below 30M with my Otterbox torches so I can't say if they will fail at 50M. Do you have another 8000 that you can dive to that depth with nothing in it, to avoid wasting the battery if it fails?