Why not go for the better?

Stridebeam

Newly Enlightened
So it must be, because Im new to collecting flashlights or something. But, I cannot think of one reason to ever buy a flashlight that is less powerful then the brightest flashlight I can get my hands on for a reasonable amount. My first Flashlight was a Nitecore P25, it was a birthday present from my gf, and from there I was hooked. But I don't see why I would ever collect a flashlight that was dimmer/less bright then that flashlight. Here is where I make my point, of... Why would anyone collect a flashlight that was less powerful then the one that they already have? If I had the money, I would buy a Nitecore TM26, and call it quits till I found something that would be more powerful. But yet I see others getting a 1000 lum flashlight one day. Then the next buying a 200 lum flashlight for just about the same size and not that better of a ratio for the price paid. So, in other words can someone tell me why you would every go back from better?

Skimo

Newly Enlightened
Because it's not all about power.

For many here, you are correct.

Thanks to you guys I'm now noticing tints and beam patterns etc. (grumpy face)

I still prefer brighter lights and I'm sure by the end of the year I'll be looking at an infinitely variable brightness flashlight with USB charging.

I will not become a tint snob, nor will I seek out a perfect beam.

I see power as a moving force for the industry, they see it too, lumens sell lights.

The reasons people buy lights all vary, the basic reason is to see, the snobs / aficionados / nuts look for tint / temp / beam etc because it interests them.

Swedpat

Flashlight Enthusiast
Welcome to the flashlight world and CPF Stridebeam! :wave: