Replace 2xCR123A with a 16650 Battery

LRDII

Newly Enlightened
Hi, I'm a bit of a noob to the flashlight world. I have an old Mag-Tac (Crowned Bezel) laying around that I wanted to use rechargeable batteries in. I bought a 16650 battery, and tried it, but it appears that the drivers won't accept 3.7v.

How difficult would it be to swap the drivers for something that will operate on the lower voltage? Would it be worth swapping the drivers, or is there a different rechargeable cell that will replace 2xCR123A batteries.

Thanks

LRDII

Newly Enlightened
Thank you!

Feel free to correct me, but it was my understanding that because of the way the batteries were constructed the rechargeable CR123s ran a higher voltage than the disposables, and I would prefer not to risk damaging the light. I'll start looking into what's available.

Do you have any recommendations on a decent quality battery? With so many batteries flooding the market it's hard to tell what's decent and what's not.

I guess now I'll have to get another light that will work with these 16650 cells...

DellSuperman

Flashlight Enthusiast
RCR123 runs at 3.7v while primary CR123 runs at 3v..
You may wanna look for LiPo cells, they are 3v cells & are a good replacement for primary cells.
Just that their capacity are quite low.

Timothybil

Flashlight Enthusiast
RCR123 runs at 3.7v while primary CR123 runs at 3v..
You may wanna look for LiPo cells, they are 3v cells & are a good replacement for primary cells.
Just that their capacity are quite low.
And they need a special charger as well.