Modified light discussions.

Parrot Quack

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm ready to step up to a modified light and I don't see a thread for buying a modified light from Vinh or others. The purpose of the thread is for everybody to discuss their experiences with custom/modified lights, answer questions for the ignorant like me and we'll see where the thread goes.

Due to Ven's efforts, I'm currently looking to have a Nitecore TM16 modified by Vinh so I get extra lumens, throw and don't have the heat problems of currently modified TK75vnQ lights when on Turbo. We're in the wait and see frame of life as Vinh awaits the arrival of the TM16 to see what he can do.

Just saying, the thread has no context other than everybody posting and discussing their experiences with modified light purchases. Myself? I have no experience with modified lighting so this is all new to me.

Last edited:

mcbrat

Flashlight Enthusiast
the world of Modified Lights and/or Custom lights is very hard on the wallet, but well worth it whether you are getting into "more lumens the better", or machining works of art, or a combination of both!

most makers who have their own forum will have sale threads in their forums, or just in the general Custom/Modified For Sale forum.

There's a lot to choose from depending on what your light preferences are.

For my use, more lumens is not my preference, but a good looking beam with good color does better for me.

Fireclaw18

Flashlight Enthusiast
Ah the world of modified lights.

I have lots of modded lights, most of which I modded myself. If you have a soldering iron it's a fun hobby to get into. A light feels so much more satisfying after you've customized it from the ground up and built it yourself. Especially, if you've made something unique nobody else has.

I prefer small EDC "pocket rockets", so virtually all of my mods are on small 1x18650 lights or smaller. A few of my more recent mods: