10440 LiIon in lights not rated for LiIon, pros and cons?

jon_slider

Flashlight Enthusiast
Note, I started this thread thinking 10440 should not be used in a 1.5 volt light such as the Lumintop Copper Tool. But thanks to several people sharing experience of no damage, Im not so sure 10440 is as problem prone as I initially believed.

Educational links
Making Lithium-ion Safe
Charging Lithium-ion
Lithium-ion Safety Concerns
Using Li-ion cells in LED flashlights safely

disclaimer, Im a newbie, no 10440 experience...
I have Safety concerns about using 10440 in a light rated for 1.5 volts. imho people who want to use 10440 should do so with lights that have drivers rated for the voltage, and protection circuits, and/or use protected batteries.. I recommend V54 Lights - Sky Lumen for custom LiIon driver upgrades.

I started this thread because I did not want people to ignore manufacturer warnings to Not use 10440 in 1.5 volt lights. As I learned more, I started to want to know how people who actually have been using 10440 for a long time, do so safely. By Post #13, I was considering using 10440, though Im still on the fence because of warnings not to leave chargers unattended overnight..

reasons not to use unprotected 10440 in unprotected lights not rated for 10440:

quoted from here:
"One detail that I would make clear is that, according to the manufacturer, the use of 10440 batteries will damage the flashlight irreversibly." Note, this factory claim contradicts several users reports of no damage to their Lumintop Copper Tool.

and here
Why putting an IMR10440 in a regular AAA light is bad:
1. LED mounted on aluminum MBPCB/Heat sink. Aluminum sounds good but the LED actually sits on an insulator layer which doesn't relive heat from the LED fast enough when over driven with a IMR10440.