Laptop Purchase: Apple or Dell?

MicroE

Enlightened
Does anybody have any experience with Apple or Dell laptops?
I need to buy a laptop for my schoolwork (I am a ChemE graduate student by night and an employee by day (and a dad and husband all the time!)).

I have always been a Windows guy, but I am seriously tempted by the Apple laptops. I have visited the local Apple store and they just seem to be very well designed and logical.
I can get a student discount from Dell, but the idea of buying a fast Windows machine and then loading it up with tons of anti-spyware, anti-virus, and anti-adware programs seems really anti-productive.

I would use it mainly for wordprocessing and spreadsheets and internet surfing. Any thoughts?---Marc

emrbrtn

Enlightened
PowerBook all the way man! iBooks are nice too, but if you are serious about your comp then get the powerbook. IMHO Dells are cheaply made.

nethiker

Enlightened
I like Apple. They make a quality product with great design and functionality. I use Windows because it offers more bang for the buck and there are more software titles, especially games.

Spyware and antivirus are becomming a fact of life. The main reason windows machines are over-run by such malware is because there are more of them. Eventually, even Apple owners will need to be more vigilant in their safe computing.

Which to buy? I'd buy the one that best meets your needs. Sounds like a cheap Dell is the best choice here. Then again if you sit working at your computer for long periods of time and become obsessed with that sexy Apple you could have purchased, then you should have got an Apple.

I have a pretty sexy windows machine, a Voodoo laptop, and I still find myself looking fondly at the Apples.

Just some thoughts,

Greg

kaseri

Enlightened