Talk me into building a Direct Drive...

mateen

Enlightened
So my brother now wants me to convert his Mag 3D into a LuxIII thrower - no problem. However, now that I've got some boards and experienced regulation, I've convinced myself to run 4C in his light driving a TW0J behind a DB1000. Can someone please remind why a simple TW0K DD mod would be better and save me some time this weekend?

evan9162

Flashlight Enthusiast
I say stick with the regulation. DD in that configuration is asking for trouble. Better to take a little more time and do it right, and build a reliable regulated light, than risk blowing the LED sometime later down the road.

Enlightened
DD = Lower Cost & ease of mod. You'll spend as much for a led driver as you will on an o-sink and a Lux-III. Drivers = more connections = more time to build = more chances for things to go wrong.
If I was going to use a driver, I'd want it to offer something like multiple output settings like georges80 nFlex driver. It gives (7) brightness settings.
Good Luck,
Chris

Enlightened
Also check out modamag's DD ref sheet Direct Drive Reference Sheet. If you can you may need to go to a TW0L or TW0M. If you are going to use rechargeable Nimh C or D batteries then a TW0K should be fine. Or like Former Mag User said put in a resistor. There is a handy calculator on this site to help determine the resistor needed.
Good Luck,
Chris

Silviron

Flashlight Enthusiast
The last 12 lights I've built, (including three 3 cell M*gs with Luxeon IIIs and a 5D with a Luxeon V - VX1T) are direct drive conversions with NO resistor, using TX0K and/or SYAKs, running off of regular alkalines.

No problems on any of them... Although they ARE massively heat-sunk, and I haven't tried any endurance tests with them yet.... Just "normal use"

And my current project is a direct drive TXOK off of Lithium Polymer.