How much brighter is the L2 than the A2....?

ActiveMatx

Newly Enlightened
I just purchased my first Surefire. Its an A2 aviator with white LED's.

I was debating between this and the L2, and my wife just bought me an A2.

I like it a lot, however, I was leaning towards the L2 because it has double the brightness of the A2. A2 has 50 lumens, and the L2 has 100. I am new to flashlights, so I think there may be some differences which I am not aware about.

Is the L2 really twice as bright as the A2? Why do some much people prefer the A2 over the L2, if the L2 is twice as bright, and doesnt need to replace bulbs?

Basically, I just would like a comparison on the maximum brightness from both lights. Thanks, and I've been a long time lurker on these forums, and just decided to register. See you guys around!

CLHC

Flashaholic
There's quite a few threads on this particular topic posted throughout CPF. As "a long time lurker" you'll notice the thread by JDOG1 on A2 or L2? among others.

Good purchase on the SureFire A2! Either and/or you will not be disappointed!

By the way—Welcome to CPF! Hope you find what you are looking for and Enjoy!

ActiveMatx

Newly Enlightened
Hi CHC,

Yeah, I read through all of the topics already that have A2 in the title. I even read that topic started by jdog.

However, it did not get into how much brighter the L2 was compared to the A2. It states different tasks that both lights are good for, but no one answers the question on whether the L2 is really twice as bright as the A2. I understand the A2 has more throw, and the L2 has a wider angle of light distrubution. On other forums, some people say that the L2 100 lumens is just a tad brighter than the L4, which only gives out 60 lumens.

So, im just curious on how much brighter the L2 is compared to the A2, because some say that the L4 is just as bright as the L2. Thanks!

cslinger

Enlightened