Anodizing done the Flashoholic way

Codiak

Enlightened
Late in the summer I started playing with Anodizing. My thought was to save money and machine my own parts vs buying a bunch of Maglites.
A number of DIY sites provide various methods and details for the process and tools required.

To power the process some people suggested computer power supplies, Car batteries with incandesant light bulbs, others suggested battery chargers, and yet others just said to buy a power station.

So I:
Burned out 2 old power supplies.
Spent a day getting frustrated with the charger... turns out the newer models are too smart for me... they won't power up if they don't detect some current from a battery in the first place.
Tried a car battery but wasn't thrilled.

End result was... I bought a bunch of Mags.

Last night I was a bit bored, still waiting Cutter!, so I started researching the Anodizing process again...
when a Light went off... (bad pun)
To properly Anodize we need Constant Current.... well DUH same with LEDs

Having just gotten a new H6CC from Taskled I decided to wire something up

PC090709-1.jpg

Using a 14.4 (4s x 18650) battery pack, the HC66 set to 6A, and a 15% Sulphuric Acid solution
I successfully anodized the tube shown on the right and dyed it gun metal gray.
The aluminum part on the left is not anodized for comparison.
It's harder, colored and shows 0 Ohms.....

I've just ordered some dyes for my next build!

Klem

Enlightened
Very interesting...

How long did it take?

What dye are you talking about; food dye or something specific for anodising?

Is the anodised part now an eletrically insulated?

Been looking into airbrushing with Moly Resin however anodising was my initial choice. Brilliant idea using the H6 driver...as Agatha Christie (writer of detective novels) once said..."Nothing is an inobvious as the obvious."

Codiak

Enlightened
Klem,