Newbie - any Zebralight-like packaged products with higher reliability?

Machine154

Newly Enlightened
Hi, I'm a newbie on the forum, but got here because of a recommendation from a friend that told me about Zebralight and a couple other brands. I saw the Zebralight and was stoked to get one, but now I am a little hesitant if the reliability is questionable. What other products are similar in look and versatility?

Snow

Enlightened
The answer is NADA. The Zebralights pretty much stand alone in design and function. I recently picked up a SureFire Saint and it's great, but way more money. Even though I have had a couple of failures, I will give Zebralight another chance. I would recommend you pick one up and see how it fares for you.

ryan162

Banned
until recently there were only zebralights but ultrafire has cloned the lights so there is in fact two options now.

Ultrafire lights are not know for high quality although they are generally fine or fixable. in this case they will probably have a simular failur rate as Zebra lights. the Ultrafire lights are being discussed here
https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/248658

Machine154

Newly Enlightened
Thanks, perhaps I'll go ahead and give them a try. If so, it looks like I need to decide between the H501 and H50-Q5 and also the color temperature. Granted, the W version is warmer than the non-W, but I would still call this cool wouldn't you? Is it worth giving up the lumens to get the warmer color for general use? I expect to use this for electrical work and backpacking/camping.

Yucca Patrol

Enlightened
until recently there were only zebralights but ultrafire has cloned the lights so there is in fact two options now.

Even though I have had a problem (that hasn't affected normal use), I still reach for a zebralight each and every day when I read in bed. They also go with me caving as backup lights and I don't worry about them as long as I test them before entering the cave.