Got Fenix L2P today

GrnXnham

Enlightened
I got my Fenix L2P today.

Wow! This thing BLOWS AWAY the mini mag lite that I had been using! I guess you get what you pay for. Incredible light output for 2AA. Very much worth the $50.

Sorry, for the excitement. I am still new to this.

Dave

GrnXnham

Enlightened
I don't have the L1P but now I am thinking about getting one of those, too, just because the L2P is so awesome.

I'd like to see how much dimmer the L1P is than the L2P. I want to see more direct comparisons. Supposedly it's the same light output with shorter life in the L1P but someone here posted a beamshot showing the L2P to be quite a bit brighter than the L1P.

Somy Nex

Enlightened
I'm not sure how representative it is of the sample, as I've only got one of each, but my L1P seems to be actually ever so slightly brighter than the L2P... :shrug:

in actual practice though, the difference is small enough, that the slightly bigger/less tight hotspot of the L2P makes it seem brighter at short-medium ranges.

pic clickable for larger version =)

Somy Nex

Enlightened
GrnXnham: i see what you are saying (or seeing) :) the corona of the L2P does seem slightly brighter than the L1P in the middle pic. however, the hotspot of the L1P to me seems brighter in the underexposed pic (though probalby due to tint & a more concentrated beam) than the L2P. i really should go buy me a light meter =P

however, i'm not sure why many are claiming (or even hoping for) up to 60% brighter levels for the L2P over the L1P... they both use R-bins, rated at 31.8-51.7 bulb lumens. Given that the reflector/emitter setup seems to be the same in both, the L1Ps must all be at the lower end and the L2Ps at the higher end to get that 60% brighter claim..? i personally was expecting no more than a longer-running (albeit also longer in length) L1P =P

ViReN

Flashlight Enthusiast
GrnXnham : Congrats for your light :) I am sure you are excited ... enjoy your light to the fullest