Pelican L1 vs. Streamlight Key-mate

MR.F

Newly Enlightened
anyone tried/have both? looking at one of these two for a keychain light. need something more on the durable side. which is better?? they seem to be brighter than single AAA style keychain lights with better runtime.

Sharpdogs

Enlightened
I can only comment on the Streamlight Key Mate. I have been carrying one for the past several months. Durability does not seem to be an issue with the light. It was made to handle a little abuse. The keyring attachment also makes it easy to attach and reattach the light from your keys. The Key Mate is also some what smaller than than the Pelican L1. My only concern with the Key Mate is that you have to be careful not to lose the plastic sleeve inside the flashlight when you change the batteries. There is also quite a bit of out for such a little light.

https://edcdepot.com/merchantmanager/product_info.php?manufacturers_id=27&products_id=83

chesterqw

Flashlight Enthusiast
i think they don't have as mush runtime as those aaa lights...

beside, they may be bright for the first few minutes ONLY.

so unless you are gonna just use it for a few seconds(less then 5) each time, you are better off with a AAA light. or even cr2 or aa or cr123.

coldsolderjoint

Enlightened
durability on the streamlight was very good, the finish can take a beatting, It's pretty bright, and a decent price if you shop around. (mine was included free with a galls order) but i found myself loosing the head and batteries into my pocket ocasionally.

The pelican L1 is also a nice little light, id probably choose it over the pelican overall, however, in my opinion, it is too big for keychain carry. Its got the clicky switch which i usually like on a light, its also got more accessories like colors lenses and is available in IR.

jsr

Flashlight Enthusiast