Need a good light.

scubasteve1942

Enlightened
Hey guys. Im currently an EMT and im looking for a good light that I can use while on the job and also while at home. I dont want something thats to big (already got enough things to carry). I was looking at some of the Wolf eyes lights. Specifically the explorer 6M and the raider 9D. Also I was looking at the streamlight TL-2 , the twin task 2L , and the surefire G2. Are these good choices? Feel free to suggest any other light that I might have overlooked.

dyyys1

Enlightened
How much run time do you think you might need on a light? The G2's batteries only last an hour or so. I don't know much about EMT work, but it seems like you would want a long-running light with a wide, "floody" beam for what you are doing.

Lighthouse one

Flashlight Enthusiast
Wolf eyes are good products....but most are powerful incans.... do you prefer LED's? You might want something thats not overly powerful...but has a longer runtime for close work.

The new maglite mini LED in 2 or 3 cell gives a nice bright light...not so much as to bounce back and blind you.

scubasteve1942

Enlightened
Very good point guys. An Led light might be the better way to go due to the longer runtime. What are some good LED lights I should look at?

nerdgineer

Flashlight Enthusiast
If you're on a budget, Fenix, Huntlight, and Lumapower make a range of pretty impressive lights at reasonable prices. Maybe something like a Fenix L1T, L2T, L1S, or L2S...

JimmyB

Enlightened
An LED may very well be the way to go. As others said, they have lower or variable output, and can have long runtime. The only downside for your use is the poor color rendition. LEDs can make colors look washed out and "off." In your line of work it's sometimes important to accurately judge the color of a victim's skin/organs, ect. Incandescents show colors much more accurately.