4D Maglite - What to do?

wedgehead30

Newly Enlightened
I'm very new to the flashlight world and not very knowledgeable about doing mods. While cleaning out the garage I found an old 4 D-cell maglite. I would like to upgrade it to a nice utility light for general use around the ranch. I've read about the ROP but I'm not sure I'm up to the task. I've also considered just getting a replacement LED bulb and trying that. I really would like a throw monster but the odd size rechargeable batteries are a little intimidating, as I know NOTHING about them. Is there some mod(s) I can do and just use regular D cells and still have a nice light thrower or do I need to go with the ROP. Do the LED upgrades from Lighthound work pretty good? Any suggestions and advice appreciated.

Thanks,
Scott
:stupid:

yellow

Flashlight Enthusiast
seems Your understanding of "general utility" is other than mine ;)

I would consider such a light being rugged, more or less low in output but with a long runtime.
part one is ok with the mag but 2 and 3 only with the isert, not when modded to ROP.

If You can solder a bit and do not want to machine much on Your own, I would get all necessary parts for a multistage + multiemitter Led from providers in here, mostly sandwich shoppe.
You would need: 3 or 4 SSC/Cree led, suitable optics/reflectors, a SHARK circuit, a REMORA as additional multistage circuit and a ready made heatsink.
If using Cree and its reflectors (much better than optics but triple the price), You end up more expensive at around 100,--
Seoul with IMS reflectors is cheaper

Gives a three stage light which will more than satisfy You, running on the 4 D cells

phil_vr

Newly Enlightened
I vote for the terralux tle-6ex too for your case buddie..
Runtime and led go hand by hand, and this replacement for the mag is really nice and bright (around 140-150 lumens if I am not mistaken)..
Bright, decent throw and good runtime.. seems to fits your requirements..