New EDC with high and low level outputs specific for flying

crjfo

Newly Enlightened
Ok now just to let you know I may not have posted here before but I have been a lurker for some time. I am looking for a new edc light. I work as a pilot on a mid sized regional jet and I need something that can throw 50 to 80 feet well in order to conduct preflights but also has the ability to do very low light at night in the cockpit. I currently have an A2 but it is just too big for edc in my opinion (I hate holsters and want something pocketable). Also I haven't had the best luck with bulbs although I seem to be the only one with this problem. So I am looking for an LED. I have thoroughly researched the p2d and novatac 120p. Now that being said here are my questions.

1) I hear the p2d's low setting is still very bright how much of a problem do you think that would be for dark adapted eyes?

2) One thing I like about fenix is that they stay on the cutting edge with their emitters are there any ways to upgrade a 120p emitter in the future or do you think Novatac might offer new heads at some point?

3) Is there possibly some kind of diffuser to put on the p2d?

4) Just how bulky will the 120p be I could really use a photo of one in a hand to give me an idea I have seen the p2d in hand and the p2d 120p comparisons but somehow this is just falling short?

5) Any info on alternative batteries for the 120p to increase runtime. And do you know if the new q5 or rebel 100 heads will accept rechargables on the fenix.

6) Do you think it would be hard to identify red hydraulic fluid with the blue tint of the q5 would the rebel be easier and how is the tint of the 120p in comparison.

Any additional info on mods for either of these two would be greatly appreciated I have seen the supernova lens replacement but I would generally be more interested in a newer emitter.