Got my Fenix P3D Q5 WOW

joe2004

Newly Enlightened

Im new to all this LED flashlights but I got to admit this little sucker is pretty bright for its Size. Makes my other Flashlight hid in the Closet.

So my questions is this I just paid $12.00 for Two CR123A battery at the store is there an alternative or cheaper way to go other then rechargeable ? And also what's the best run time on different Batteries

Thanks guys

woodrow

Flashlight Enthusiast
First, Welcome to cpf! All your questions will be answered here with a little searching. Secondly, congrats on your P3D Q5, it is a great light. Lastly, you can buy 123a's for much lower than $6 each.

Google Batteryjunction, they sell 123a's for under $1 each depending on what brand you buy. I personally like to buy the more expensive non-Chinese brands...Surefire, Energizer, Panasonic... but they can be had there as well for under $2 each. Also, if there is a Sportsman's Warehouse near you, they sell Surefire 123a's for $21 for 12.

Check out the Good Deals section in the Marketplace forum. I think I saw a site selling Energizers to cpf members for $1 each when you buy 50.

Again, welcome to cpf!

Last edited:

paulr

Flashaholic
Stay with name brand 123's, and $1 each for them sounds almost too good to be true (i.e. watch out for, and stay away from, "surplus" cells pulled from equipment, etc.). $1.50 or so is doable. Batteryjunction.com (dealer, not battery brand) is good, lighthound.com is good. With due respect and no offense intended to various vendors with a CPF presence who are selling their own brands of batteries, the way that whole situation has played out over the past several years has made me decide to stick with the premium brands and pay the extra.

I'm not sure if your P3D can properly use the slightly higher voltage RCR123A rechargeables. I'm not a fan of those though. If you primarily use your P3D at the lower settings the batteries should last practically forever.

Last edited:

ltiu