need a bench mark to move foward

hangn_9

Newly Enlightened
I am just getting into these high end lights. and have posted this question as sort of an add on in my last post but I recieved several answers.

I currently have a 21 led 3 aaa batt light bought at farm and home. Name brand is "Grip" all the packaging said (if I rember correctly) is something x brighter than other flashlights( a lot of lights advertise that way it seems). And it does seem pretty bright. Anyway how bright is it??

I am really going to feel like a fool if I spend $ 50 to $300 bucks on a light that is not as bright or as bright as my current 10 buck light.

I have seen these little cheapo's with as many as 100 led they are all over the place but I never see lumin, candlepower, ect... ratings on them. Why??

thanks
hangn9

ps I am not really looking for what to buy. I took you-alls advise on the Zebra light and its being shipped. I am just quietely reading all of your posts on lights to educate myself before I take the big plunge and purchase my main light. And by the way this is by far the most mature and well informed forum I have ever had the privilage to be a part of.

PhantomPhoton

Flashlight Enthusiast
Well I can give it a try...
The 21 leds are cheap 5mm leds. They're likely being overdriven in direct drive from the 3xAAA (which by the way is the scourge of the flashlight world for power sources!). So due to the fact that 5mm LEDs have no heatsink and are being driven above spec the LEDs will likely start burning out after some use. The tailcap reverse clickie buttons on those are pretty nototious for failing as well.
So from the standpoint of reliability yur ligt doesn't rate very high.:(