Small bright flashlight for aircraft mechanic

moerush04

Newly Enlightened
Hi Guys,

I am new to this website and am happy I found it.

I am an aircraft mechanic who is looking for a flashlight that is bright enough to light up the exterior of an aircraft about 75 feet away but not so bright that I will blind myself lighting up smaller areas like wheels and brakes. It needs to be relatively small and have rechargeable batteries.

My research brought me to these lights that may be a starting point:

The Fenix TK11 R2 is the perfect size and has rechargeable batteries. Not sure about brightness. Maybe I can get a brighter one at the same price range.

The MTE SSC P7 looks nice too but maybe a bit too bright.

I am looking in the 75-110$ range.

If you guys could give me a bit of guidance and recommendations it would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Dan

monkey1368

Newly Enlightened
For a work light, try the Romisen RC-N3 II Cree Q5 2-Mode LED Flashlight "Black" for about $25 or check out the Eagle Tac brand lights for about $50. Both lights have a low and high that's accessed by a simple twist of the flashlight head.

Phantomd aka zach

Newly Enlightened
the TK-11R2 would be perfect... if you have never used a modern high power LED light before you will be amazed how bright they are. when working on small close up things it will be necessary to reduce the output of the light otherwise it's too bright.

I have a jetbeam IIIM R2 (basically the same output as the TK11 R2) and it's very bright. I bought the jetbeam over the TK-11 because it had a much more customizable brightness settings. I use the very low setting when I wake up in the middle of the night and want to keep my night vision, 1/4 brightness for working on very close things, 1/2 (about the level of a stock LED D-cell mag light) for most things. and full bright for long distances.

The 18650 batteries are a bit weird at first but they last a very long time.

-Zach (Newb)

Last edited:

Gunner12

Flashaholic