Whats the hype about surefires?

Modderbox

Newly Enlightened
Hey Everybody!

This is my first time posting here so forgive me for asking if this is a stupid question!

I'm trying to figure out whats so special about surefires, I'm not trying to be sarcastic by any means, I understand they're well built and all, but they seem to fall short when it comes out light output.

Is it that everybody here just mod's them and puts in a better bulb/LED?

I have a few flashlights, an Inova T4, a Night-ops Gladius and a Fenix PD30, but when I look at what surefire has to offer, comparatively speaking, they just seem less bright and more expensive.

E.g.
Surefire L1 Lumamax LED
Lumens: 65
Length: 4.5"
Runtime (at max): 1.5 hours
Price: $160.00

vs.

Fenix PD30
Lumens: 235
Length: 4.6"
Runtime (at max): 1.5 hours
Price: $65.00

I don't mean to offend anyone whatsoever, I figure there must be something that makes surefire so special (aside from quality) and I was hoping someone here would be so kind as to enlighten me. (no pun intended)

Crenshaw

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi Modderbox

What you ask a question that causes civil war here. do some searching, and you will find your answer.

Each light has its strength, so spend some time on these forums, and get to know all the lights, eventually you will be able to decide for yourself.

welcome to cpf!

Crenshaw

vizlor

Newly Enlightened
I've been gone for a while, so any subject is fresh to me...

To answer your question, you are best of buying a SureFire. I suggest trying out an incandescant, because that is what SureFire does best. I'd personally recommend the A2.

Furthermore, a good flashlight isn't determined by it's output. A good flashlight is one that does what you needs, when you need it. SureFire deliveres excellent built quality and reliable functions. While the Fenix PD30 has alot of modes, it also has more things going that can glitch.