Elephant II in the room...Incan vs. LED...Incan Wins!...for now

flashfiend

Enlightened
***Reasons it won for me (for this high power setup): Throw, Color Rendition, and finally because I can hold it for longer than 3 minutes (hi-power LEDs throw too much heat toward my hand).

Not to :dedhorse:. But I'd like opinions on what to do with an FM Ellie II I just ordered.

Incan vs. LED

Looking at my options I can get a KIU bi-pin socket (w/ AW or JimmyM regulator) and use it with a proper Osram bulb or I can build a 2x or 3x sst-series LED (w/ H6Flex driver). Either would be powered by AW IMR18650's.

I don't want to get into too much of a discussion on which is brighter as both setups will be more than bright enough (so ignoring actual total output, the current for either is similar to me). However I 'd like to know the pros and cons as you see it of either one. For me right now the main issue is complexity of build. I've never built an LED based light before and don't even have the soldering equipment to do it. I don't know if anyone does this but I might even ask someone local to me on the forum to use their equipment and advisement. The incan on the other hand is much easier.

***Just remembered I am considering a neo-fab 6.5A Mag drop-in when neoseikan releases them. An easier LED route but I'm not that drawn to the multi-XPG's he is thinking about using.

Last edited:

somber

Newly Enlightened
Re: Elephant II in the room...I vs. L

Incan uses power less efficiently, is easier to break, and it'll burn out quicker.

LED is none of these things, and it'll last 100x longer, but it doesn't have as good 'color rendering' for outdoors, if that's important to you.

...so what advantages does INCAN have at all? It's old technology.

Locoboy5150

Flashlight Enthusiast

Old tech versus new tech. This is a very common theme in the car and truck crowds that I also hang out with. I'm an old tech guy when it comes to vehicles.