Advice: Cold weather AA/cr123

Z

z_velox03

I am new to the flashlight scene so I need some help.

I have been researching and reading up on flashlights but there is just too much info for me to understand.

I'd like to use the light primarily for winter use. I need a light that can hold up to sub-zero cold weather (such as snow camping/hiking). I would like to have 2 lights, a standard AA/cr123 sized and a backup AAA. The main purpose of the AA is for hiking at night in woods and snow conditions. The AAA is for backup, in-tent use, etc... longevity would be good for AAA.

One of my concerns is the cold icy feel a metal flashlight might give off. If that is not a concern please let me know. Also I am not sure if anyone has ever tried dipping handles in rubber dip. And I am worried how long will AA/cr123 last in sub-freezing conditions.

Some lights I have considered and researched:

Jet Stream RRT-0 (ideal canidate so far, dual battery, twist dimmer)

Jet Stream Jet III-M (seems a bit big, S.O.S. is nice)

HDS (expensive)

Nitecore Extreme Tactical Cree R2 Flashlight (cr123 only cant use AA)

AAA

Fenix L0D (backup S.O.S. feature is nice)

I really like the RRT-0 for the dual AA/cr123a batteries. That is a huge plus because I carry a ton of AA for other electronics. Twist dimmer is plus for ease of use. But it lacks S.O.S. (not big deal). Jet III-M seems good for power and longevity and S.O.S. is big plus but it is a little bigger than desired.

I have not researched AAA much but came across a good price for the Fenix L0D. Seems like a good trusty cheap mini-light.

Also when ordering the RRT-0 what do these mean?

Tint: Cree R5 or Cree Q3 5A

Reflector: R5-Hybrid or SMO

Are there any other good flashlights with dual AA and cr123 ?

Finally what is the best battery for cold weather use?

I have read eneloop, energizer li-ion?

If there are any topics on this please redirect me. Tried to search, but not much info I could find.

Thanks!