Looking for light that doesn't shut off suddenly when batteries are low

Nightrider202

Newly Enlightened
I've been carrying one or two EDC lights for the past 20 years or so, but I've had reliability issues with every one of them except Fenix. They either quit working or developed intermittent switches that got worse over time.

The other problem is regulated output that leaves me in the dark with no warning when the batteries weaken. If I need to I will start carrying extra batteries, but I would prefer to have something like my beloved Fenix LD20 that I lost a few months ago. That one would dim gradually as the batteries weakened. I used Eneloops and got months of use between charges.

I've been looking at these new Fenix models available at REI, but I would like to know if they will shut off suddenly instead of dimming gradually:

PD35: https://www.rei.com/product/124309/fenix-pd35-tac-flashlight

LD12: https://www.rei.com/product/143377/fenix-ld12-flashlight

LD22: https://www.rei.com/product/143376/fenix-ld22-flashlight

Zak

Enlightened
Fenix lights usually don't have hard low-voltage shutoffs. They often blink when they get low, and usually do become dimmer. If you run a protected Li-ion battery in any of those, the battery itself will shut off suddenly when the voltage gets low enough.

xevious

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've been carrying one or two EDC lights for the past 20 years or so, but I've had reliability issues with every one of them except Fenix. They either quit working or developed intermittent switches that got worse over time.

The other problem is regulated output that leaves me in the dark with no warning when the batteries weaken. If I need to I will start carrying extra batteries, but I would prefer to have something like my beloved Fenix LD20 that I lost a few months ago. That one would dim gradually as the batteries weakened. I used Eneloops and got months of use between charges.