Need help finding a flicker-free LED flashlight that runs on AA

Swedish_Dude

Newly Enlightened
Hi!

I have been using a Maglite Mini LED for a few years now, but it has crazy PWM flicker.
Not only am I sensitive to flicker and get migraines, but I also want to use my flashlight to illuminate my subjects when doing macro photography. With the Maglite Mini every single frame is a different exposure. At 11 frames per second some are way overexposed, and some are almost completely black.

I like the size and shape of the Maglite Mini. It fits perfectly in a pen holder in my backpack. I also like that it runs on two AA batteries.

Can you guys help me find a flicker free (absolutely no PWM) flashlight running on AA (preferably two of them)? Bonus points for similar size and shape as my Maglite Mini. I absolutely despise the tactical look, so extra bonus points for a civilian looking model.

You help would be much appreciated :)

AB8XL

Enlightened
I suggest the EagTac D25A Clicky MKII for single AA and D25A2 for two AA batteries, both have constant current regulation (non-PWM) for all output levels with a few LED choices to choose from.

jon_slider

Flashlight Enthusiast
I suggest the EagTac D25A Clicky MKII for single AA and D25A2 for two AA batteries, both have constant current regulation (non-PWM) for all output levels with a few LED choices to choose from.

good suggestion, based on what the OP thinks he wants
fwiw, I dont find a flashlight with a typical reflector hotspot very useful for photos

want to use my flashlight to illuminate my subjects when doing macro photography

Welcome to CPF..

I cant offer a suggestion that meets all your design criteria

I prefer either a pebble TIR, example Lumintop Tool aaa, or an Aspheric lens, example Klarus Mi1C aluminium model (not the Ti, not the CU, and not the HiCRI, only the Aluminium model has the Aspheric lens)