Arc4 vs ? advice on small, regulated, & dimmable.

loalight

Enlightened
Hey folks-

YA newbie here. I was searching on bright LEDs and here I found myself- I didn't even know similar folk existed.. yeah, I have a lot of LED lights. Nothing fancy though.

I'd like to rectify that. I'd like a light which is:
1) small (cr123 size)
2) dimmable
3) potentially bright
4) well-built
5) COOL

Given these priorities, it seems that the Arc4 series is a serious contender. But you folks are the experts- what else is out there?

best, tia, fearing for wallet,
loa

Byron Walter

Enlightened
I'm not an expert but my Arc 4, rev1 is my most used light due to its sixteen speed tranny... always the right gear for the job... wait, we're talking about flashlights but you get the idea. Anyhow I have enough confidence in my Arc to take it with me to the Yukon (in a few hours). But then it really won't be that dark there, will it?

But back to the Arc... it's too darn expensive but still worth it!

m1match

Newly Enlightened
In production dimmable lights, I I can't really think of any other lights that fit your requirements. I have an ARC 4+ and really like it. Some people don't like the interface where you double click to change brightness, but once you learn to program it, which can be a tough learning curve, its a great light. If you buy one, go the ARC section of this forum, go to the ARC FAQ and download the instructions for the ARC 4. The one page sheet that comes with the light is not very good.
The ARC 4+ in production now is the rev. (revision) 2 and some have had problems with the switch being vague and mushy, but I haven't heard many complaints lately, and ARC has a super customer service policy, if anything goes wrong, send it back and they'll fix it.