Flashlight for life - Gladius?

elewton

Newly Enlightened
I hope this isn't out of order; I'm quite new to the world of flashligts.

I'm looking for a good one and, though a poorish college student, I'm willing to pay a few hundred dollars (save up).

I love the strobe function, if it works. That should be fun for the ol' shneaking n' confusin'. Does anyone have a non-biased experience of it?

What I'm concerned about is that this is such a new technology. Will another, improved model come out a few months down the road?

wwglen

Enlightened
Quote:

Will another, improved model come out a few months down the road?

End Quote:

Yes.

Now you need to decide what you want. Bright with short run time, Long run time but dim, Small, Large, Ect.

one of the best deal is in the Lux III series. The Maglight mods you can fine here in BST should do pretty good if the form factor is pretty good.

wwglen

davidra

Enlightened
If you want a strobe function, for a lot less money than you mention, look at any of the Eternalights.

greg_in_canada

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm not sure what "ol' shneaking n' confusin'" means
but I would be cautious about using the strobe in
situations where your life isn't in danger.

If the strobing gives someone a seizure they may well
sue you. And since having a photo induced seizure makes
it more likely they will have future seizures you may
lose big.

For a police officer it's a different story. If their
alternative action to using the strobe is shooting
the person they are less likely to lose a suit.

Greg (I am not a lawyer just a cautious person)

MrBenchmark

Enlightened
With all due respect, you might want to consider something a bit less expensive than a Gladius. $250 or so is a lot for a flashlight - especially if you are new to this and aren't completely sure this isn't just a passing fancy. There's a lot of good lights out there, for what purpose do you need a light?

joshwang

Newly Enlightened