i need some help with eBay legitness.

BlindedByTheLite

Flashlight Enthusiast
i have zero experience with eBay, but it keeps popping up as an outlet for purchases again and again no matter what product i'm looking for. well, now it's a digital camera. but, since i've never dealt with eBay b4, how am i supposed to know if these deals are legit' or not? some of these prices seem like such steals i have a hard time believing they're truly genuine and fail-safe.

Fuji Finepix S7000 + kit for $509.99
Minolta Dimage Z5 for $158.50 so far with no reserve
Canon G6 + extra's for $499.99
Sony V3 + extra's for $484.99
Canon S70 + extra's for $419.99
Panasonic FZ20 + 1GB memory for $510

anyway, you get the point. there's a bunch from that last seller there, so i don't need to list them all.

are these legit' sales? can i seriously buy those camera's @ those prices, with extra's in some cases? is there a surefire way to tell so i don't have to come ask you guys everytime i consider buying something on eBay?

/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/huh2.gif

B@rt

Flashaholic
Something I watch for is the feedback, and if the seller doesn't deliver, you can complain and have their account suspended, and refund you...

A buyer is pretty well protected on E-Bay IMHO. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

Rebus

Enlightened
I have over 60 trades on Ebay and have not been
burned. What I do is go to the feedback screen and
pull up his past transactions. If he has sold camera x
or something similar several times and the customers
are satisfied, that will make you feel much better.
Don't make a large purchase from anyone with just a
few transactions unless your really are sure that
it is legit. Read the ad completely. I feel uneasy
when a listing is very wordy with lots of restrictions.
Make sure the shipping cost is clear. Feedback should
be at least 98% positive with no negatives that indicate a
failure to communicate with dissatisfied customers.