A new flashlight for work, need some advice

alex in germany

Newly Enlightened
Hi Guy´s

i work as a mechanic with injection machines and cast´s, and all that stuff aroung them.
Most of the time i do repairs. And sometimes i need a better view, - more light.

I use a SF E1L with rechargeables CR123, and most of the time it worked.
But with all that new LED´s out there, i want something new, with more flood character.

What do i want:

a LED flashlight with Cree XR-E or SSC P4
it shoud be powered by a single Cell rechargeable CR123
Size shoud be the same as the E1L or a bit smaller.
a tailcap clicky, with max. 2 stage switch,High/low, or just on-off.
No strobe,SOS, multi level etc. is needed.
Upgradeable if posible, (depends on the Price)

The Light will be used everyday, with dirty hands, has contact with oil, all kinds of lubricants, grease, some cleaning stuff, like aceton,braking cleaner,etc....

I try to take care, but .... my E1L felt down from time to time.
For two times it ended in the washing machine.....

Quality of the SF is outstanding.

Is there a Flashlight out there, that fits my needs ?
Or shoud i better wait till SF comes out with new LED Lights?

A good customer service would be nice, in case i need it. Spare parts should be availible for longer.

I have no clue where to set my Limit for the Price...

If it is worth the money, and i realy like it, i will pay what it costs.....

Greetings, Alex

GeorgePaul

Enlightened
alex in germany said:
Most of the time i do repairs. And sometimes i need a better view, - more light.

I use a SF E1L with rechargeables CR123, and most of the time it worked.
But with all that new LED´s out there, i want something new, with more flood character.
Do you really want more light output (i.e., brighter) or just more flood? If you just need more flood character, you can add a beamshaper to your E1L.

Lobo

Flashlight Enthusiast
Lumapower D-mini fits all of your criterias except that it's more of a thrower than floodlight.