Best flashlight for camping?

underconstruction

Newly Enlightened
Hi guys, im pretty new to the world of flashlights. I am looking for the best camping flashlight. I go on trips that are usualy 3 or more days so I need something with good run time. And I cant spend over $30. Any suggestions? Also, any suggestions for a head lamp?

r0b0r

Enlightened
Fenix E0 ?

Single Nichia CS 5mm LED and runs regulated 12hrs from a single alkaline AAA :)
16hrs if you use an Energizer E2 Lithium

Output is not high, but it's great for when your eyes are adjusted to darkness. I use mine with a diffuser made from an old glowstick cut in half. Fantastic little area light.

Would certainly recommend the E0 for camping, as a tent light and general close up lighting it's heard to fault. Lightweight and durable, too.
I keep mine clipped to my front belt loop.
Always accessible - and with the glowstick diffuser attached, it serves as a useful "crotchlite", illuminating my immediate surrounds like a halo :p

tygger

Enlightened
For that budget, and pure simplicity, I'd recommend the Maglite 2AA LED, The Princeton Tec Apex or Petzl Tikka headlamp, and a cheapo (dim) AAA single LED, keychain type light. When your eyes adjust to the dark you will won't need (and won't want) more than dim light to see your way around. Of course it helps to have a bright light like the Mag to spot things if you hear a noise in the bushes.

techwg

Flashlight Enthusiast
you really want to protect yourself and others you camp with. Light can save your life, i would strongly urge you to look at lights twice the price... Look for a cree that tickles your fancey.

shakeylegs

Enlightened
under,
Are you car camping, backpacking, horsepacking . . .
Is weight a concern and how much light do you need?