Why SureFire is more $$$ than Fenix???

Status
Not open for further replies.

roymail

Enlightened
I'm finally ready to spend some money on a better quality light. From what all I've read, it seems that Fenix is the logical choice. However, I'm also drawn to the SureFire lights except for the higher cost factor.

But that doesn't seem to bother the SF faithful, and SF has a substantial following. But why do they cost more than Fenix which also makes high quality lights?

Now, I'm still pretty new at this... so go easy on me. Thanks!

ltiu

Flashlight Enthusiast
Made in the USA vs. Made in China. Labor is more expensive in the US.

Wick

Newly Enlightened
Must we do this every week? You (roymail) joined in March 2007, since that time there has been about a thread every week, if not more, discussing why one is greater than the other. Almost every thread dissolves into Surefire and/or Fenix bashing. Does anyone really want to wade through 10 pages of the same garbage every week? I'm just tired of this never ending debate.

Cuso

Flashlight Enthusiast
Ever hold a Surefire light and a Fenix light in your hands, side by side?? You will notice the differences in build quality right away...;)

Joe Talmadge

Flashlight Enthusiast
If you handle and examine one of each, the reason will be immediately and easily apparent -- and place of manufacture is definitely not the entire story. That said, I stopped buying Surefire years ago, when they chopped their distribution network and severely limited allowed discounts, because for me even the enhanced quality didn't merit the price. But that is a deeply personal decision, I can't fault anyone for going with SF.

Cuso

Flashlight Enthusiast