Know anything about Glo Toobs?

2sparky

Newly Enlightened
Hi Im new to CPF and wanted to know how useable a Glo Toob is. I camp and scuba dive alot and was wondering if this was a good buy. The dont have any information about the light on their website (lumens). Thanks for the help.

MikeLip

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi Im new to CPF and wanted to know how useable a Glo Toob is. I camp and scuba dive alot and was wondering if this was a good buy. The dont have any information about the light on their website (lumens). Thanks for the help.

Glo toobs are basically bullet proof. They are a solid chunk of clear resin with LED embedded in it. They are most useful as marker lights. If you are thinking about using one as lantern it's not going to work. But as a nightlight or marker, it's fine.

angelofwar

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have a Glo-toob FX (7-Function)(amber), and can testify to their waterproofness. I use it primarily for marking my bag when I cave/camp, and they're as tough as nails...here it is in lay terms...the electrical parts are basically "dipped" in a solid plastic resin, and the machined down to proper size, so as long as the one cap stays on, it's virtually indestrucible. they're not the brightest thing on the planet, but are perfect in dark enviroments. The only problem I had was the battery that came with it had a "paper" top, so it was annoying trying top change the functions, but once I replaced it with a duracell with the plastic top, it worked like a charm. A great light, and I can't wait to get a few more in different colors. Hope this helps!:D

TNRonin

Newly Enlightened
I have both the FX and Lithium models. I have the dive cap set up with the FX and they say the Lithium is diveable with the rotating cap. These things are pretty cool for general lighting. I have found that moving between the functions of the Lithium is easier than the FX.