Some questions about N30

dimbulb

Newly Enlightened
Hello,

I am pretty new to this. Currently, I have a rechargeable Mag (incan, ~250 lumen, I think).
I use it mostly to keep an eye for my dog when I let him out in my backyard and short duration job like taking out the garbage from my backyard to the curb.

Regarding N30, is there a lag between initial turn-on to its full brightness? Is there is a lag - how long it would be? I also intend to use the light for very short duration (1 min -2 mins). Is this a good use model?

Thanks!

BVH

Flashaholic
Most HID's have a lag-time to warm up. Some as little as 1-2 seconds, others are 45 seconds to full brightness. When the N30 is initially turned on, it is putting out an estimated 750 Lumens right away (my estimate). It then takes about 35 to 45+ seconds to get to full brightness (3000+- Lumens) So yes, there is a lag but even with the lag, it's brighter than your mag at the moment it's turned on.

Short bursts are typically not good for HIDs. However, I use all my N30's for 30 seconds to 2 minute bursts. If the bulb is rated for 2500 hours, then maybe I'll get 1250 hours out of it. For me, that would still be years of use without changing a bulb. Count up your typical hours of use and you'll robably find 1250 hours would be a very long time. You'd probably end up getting a new light before the bulb died.

Last edited:

dimbulb

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for the succinct reply!
Incidentally, how much does the bulb cost if I have to replace it?
(I got really tired of replacing my bike's halogen lamps, which are not cheap, that were rated 100 hours but usually lasted much less than that.)

BVH

Flashaholic