How do I educate myself on this stuff?

PsychoBunny

Enlightened
As you know, I am a flashlight newbie.
I have learned alot from you guys, but I am wondering if there
is a book, website, or whatever, where I can learn all about the
different kinds of lamps, filters, reflectors and stuff.
Kind of like, a high end flashlight 101, like a single source, instead
of learning bits of info peacemeal :confused:

bngbuck

Newly Enlightened
1. Read the Wiki article on Flashlights
2. Go to every one of their links
3. Google Flashlight and surf for a ciuple of hours.
4. Post another general question here.

ugrey

Enlightened
Read everything on this board, buy as many flashlights as you can afford. Then you will have a head full of knowledge and lots of flashlight experience. You will also have a lot of fun.

fire-stick

Enlightened
There's nothing wrong with "learning bits of info" over a long period of time.. I find this aspect one of the most interesting parts of being a flashaholic.. Also you must remember that as the quickly changing technology of the flashlight world changes you must learn more to stay up on the technology. (The basics still stay the same though.. Just because a new LED came out it doesn't mean the laws electricity change.. :poof::grin2:)

Oddjob

Flashlight Enthusiast
I learned what I know from reading a little bit here and there everyday. It's what I like about this place. It provides an enjoyable place where I can leave the world for a little bit.

PsychoBunny

Enlightened
Thanks guys, lots of great stuff here.

As popular as high performance flashlights have become in the past
few years, mostly due to advancements in LED technology, you
would think that someone would write a book!?

PsychoBunny

Enlightened
I learned what I know from reading a little bit here and there everyday. It's what I like about this place. It provides an enjoyable place where I can leave the world for a little bit.

I agree.