Barbolight U9 with Warm White MC-E and HipCC

wquiles

Flashaholic
This is my first time modding this Barbo host, as I previously have been modding the Bomb-proof host for a couple of forum members (see my signature for links to other Barbo projects).

It has taken me a LONG time to put this one together, because I was trying to make a regulated version for this host, and the ideal driver (hipCC) fits fine in the larger diameter of the Bomb-proof hosts, but not on the smaller diameter of this U9 host. I did a lot of "experiments" along the way to try different things, so here is a pictorial of the project.

FIrst, I had to get the original U9 host in pieces. Lens was already removed prior to the light arriving to me, but the Barbolight does a good job in making these hosts nearly indestructible, so it was still laborious to get everything separated:
DSCF8218.JPG

DSCF8219.JPG

DSCF8220.JPG

DSCF8221.JPG

DSCF8222.JPG

DSCF8223.JPG

I then had to heat the body/head in my Powder Coating oven to 450F, so that the factory epoxy would soften enough for me to unscrew the head off:
DSCF8224.JPG

Since I wanted to use the hipCC (about 1.1" dia) and this host was about 1.0" dia, I would have to come up with a custom heatsink. After discussing this a little with George (from www.taskled.com, designer of these drivers) I proceeded to lightly sand two sides of the hipCC to make it fit on the host, but sideways. :
DSCF9697.JPG

DSCF9699.JPG

DSCF9700.JPG

DSCF9701.JPG

DSCF9702.JPG

DSCF9703.JPG

You can see here in my hand written notes my original design:
DSCF9704.JPG

I then continue work on the mill:
DSCF9744.JPG

DSCF9746.JPG

DSCF9747.JPG

DSCF9748.JPG

And for the first time I was able to test the fit of the hipCC on the new custom heatsink:
DSCF9749.JPG

DSCF9750.JPG

Here is a close-up of the heatsink next to the original paper design:
DSCF9751.JPG