Need help for EDC light

pens-66

Newly Enlightened
Hi guys.. I am pretty new to the flashlight scene and need a good EDC light...I have tried to search thru alot of threads and am getting SOOOOO overwhelmed.. Here are a few questions I have:

What is the latest and best led bulb?

A few lights that have my interest are the Fenix PD30+ or even the PD20, the Surefire E2D led (200 lumen model) or the Jetbeam RRT-0.

The Jetbeam offers a OP or hybrid bulb...what are the differences? What bulb do I want... I am looking for something that has good throw for use outside,plus something good for indoors as well and that is really bright.Something not too big so I can carry in a pocket or a flashlight holster,etc..... I know I am a flashlight idiot..but I figured you guys can point me in the right direction. thank you!

pens-66

Newly Enlightened
Oh yeah.. I know alot of companies rate their lumens differently... are most true to what they state,what should I stay away from,etc?

vickers214

Enlightened
Hi there Pens 66,

Only just getting into this myself and if you can get a light and get out! i looked for a light for work, now im modding Maglites and buying more torches than im ever gonna need!

Trust me you are about to be bombarded with usefull and helpfull information, which in turn leaves you more confused as this EDC question is one with no answer! but im gonna give you my 2 pences worth!

i have spent hours, even days on here trying to answer that question, my job is a Police officer so i need a lot of throw for searching, and usefull spill when in alleys etc, as one person put it throw for whats over there and spill for whats in front of me, best way of putting it really.