Modding a SureFire L2 with the MC-E (cont) ** Driver close-up pics in post # 3 **

Kestrel

Flashaholic
Modding a SureFire L2 with the MC-E (still in process)

This is sort of a combination How-to, How-do-I-do-it?, and How-it-went thread. This is going to be a work in progress for a while, as I'm just starting out on it - any input from the many experts here would be most appreciated.

I've owned a SureFire L2 for ~3 years now (it was one of my first two SureFires), and to tell the truth I've never been 100% happy with it. I very much like the UI of the L1/L2 series, but was never all that enamored of the Luxeon V emitter in the L2. 100 lumens sounded OK at the time, but being a rather floody overall design, there seldom seemed to be enough lux for me, especially coming from a flashlight of that size (6.1" in length, approximately equal to my 3xCR123 SF C3 / M60). In addition, I've found that the slightly greenish tint common to the LuxV was a bit distracting.

I was inspired to pursue this mod after reading up on some related threads featuring the transplant of the Cree MC-E into a SureFire, particularly this excellent L2 / MC-E thread by Energie, which included lots of helpful pics:
Surefire L2 with Cree MC-E

I also read these other threads (not necessarily L2 modding threads) for additional background info:
KL4 neutral white MC-E modding service
SureFire KL4 MC-E mod
Surefire L4 (KL4) with Cree MC-E
One Surefire L4 with MC-E emitter
(This last one is only a sale thread by AaronM for L2's & L4's modded with MC-E's, but still included useful info including beamshots showing various MC-E tints)

It seems like the SF L2 is a great candidate for the MC-E:
  • the existing SF L2 driver is a very good match for an MC-E wired 2s2p
  • since the existing driver is a 'boost' driver, it will work well with 1x LiIon (@ 3.7v) as well as still retaining compatibility with 2x CR123 (@ ~5.0v) for backup.