Getting started with a good light and batteries for around $200

BrendonTW

Newly Enlightened
Hey folks,

Looking for a light and some good batteries (preferably rechargeable unless those are just all crap) to get me started for around $200 plus or minus a bit.

I don't have anything specific I'm looking for except brightness. Just looking for something to impress some friends and also to have around whether searching for a lost dog or blinding an intruder. I don't think I need anything with a case (you may tell me otherwise), nothing too large or small, don't care throw vs beam width, hot spot, any of that. I'm just getting started so I don't have anything to be picky about yet. Thanks for any input!

scout24

Flashaholic
Visit Malkoff Devices. Look at the Hound Dog 18650 turn key, and or the MD2 with high/low ring. MD2 is far more general purpose, the Hound Dog is more of a thrower. MD2 you will have to purchase batteries and charger seperately, but I'd wager that Mr. Malkoff will sell you the same charger and 18650 cell with an MD2 that he sells with the Hound Dog.

JohnnyBravo

Enlightened
Welcome aboard to CPF Brendon! Although I don't own one (yet), the first light that came to my mind was a Surefire Peacekeeper. You'd have a choice of the single mode, or dual mode versions to consider. And with a little extra money left towards $200, I'd get an Orbtronic 3500mAH 18650; then you'd have the Surefire battery, charger, and a spare!

BrendonTW

Newly Enlightened
Thanks a million guys.

I wont be be carrying it regularly and none of my friends have anything better than a Home Depot light lol. I will look into the lights you guys mentioned when I get to my computer. I hate browsing from my phone. Anyone know anything about a Fenix TK75?

Timothybil

Flashlight Enthusiast