what's a TACTICAL flashlight??

mcfarlie6996

Newly Enlightened
The term is completely open to interpretation. To some it means a tail-switch, to others it means having instant access to Strobe, to a few it means having a strike bezel. Pretty much what ever you feel makes it 'tactical' is its definition.

Timothybil

Flashlight Enthusiast
Around here, the commonly accepted definition of 'tactical' is a light used in a military/police/personal defense situation to illuminate/stun/disorient/disable an opponent. It usually involves some combination of bright light and/or strobe, usually with the ability to operate the light while also operating a firearm of some sort.

StarHalo

Flashaholic
FULLY TACTICAL BRO

ltO0NhO.jpg

XR6Toggie

Newly Enlightened
Most lights I see advertised as 'tactical' usually mean they have a strobe, tail switch and crenellated bezel and a bump in price. I work in law enforcement and am yet to see someone use a strobe or crenellated bezel against another person.

From my point of view strobe is not suitable to use in a critical incident because it can affect others besides the suspect and has no guarantee of having any effect. I think crenellated bezels are a waste of time when other more effective options are available that are less likely to get you in trouble for using non-issued equipment as a weapon.

Modernflame

Flashlight Enthusiast
I work in law enforcement and am yet to see someone use a strobe or crenellated bezel against another person...

I think crenellated bezels are a waste of time when other more effective options are available that are less likely to get you in trouble for using non-issued equipment as a weapon.