New to the forums. What LED's to get?

• Thread starter Cosmic Superchunk
  • Start date
C

Cosmic Superchunk

New to the forums. What LED\'s to get?

Hi all, I'm new to CandleForums and I have been bitten by the flashlight bug in addition to my 8 year knife addiction.
grin.gif
I can't say that I know alot about LED's but I'm learning thanks to you guys. My only experience with LED lights are with the Photon Microlights and a recently purchased CMG Infinity. My question is, what others do you guys recommend and which ones to stay away from? Thanks in advance.

BentHeadTX

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: New to the forums. What LED\'s to get?

Hmmmmm,
Well, you got the small LED purchase done, if you want one smaller, get the Arc AAA (single AAA) light.
After that, it gets interesting!
smile.gif
Luxeon 1.25 watt and Luxeon 5 watt LEDs are the big monsters of LED lights. Arc, Surefire, CMG and others make consumer lights to choose from.
For more general evil in the world of flashlights, MrBulk, Elektrolumens, Inretech, McGizmo, AB, dat2zip, Lambda and others make some interesting flashlight mods. Depends if you want regulated light, small lights, large lights, different colored lights... the list is endless!
List your demands in a light (size, output, what type of batteries and cost) there is something out there for you.

Mrd 74

Enlightened

Get yourself an Arc AAA, it seems to be a requirement here but you won't regret it.

Saaby

Flashaholic

It's gotta be the AAA. If you don't get one now you will later and wish you had sooner.

Charles Bradshaw

Flashlight Enthusiast

Welcome to CPF Cosmic Superchunk!

You will need to run your Reactor on Lithium AAs for both respectable output and good runtime, IF it is the 2AA model. Don't even think about Lithium AAs in the Reactor 3 (3AA).

The top of the line LS light is the Arc LSH-P. Also expensive, but worth the price.

The CMG Ultra is a good one: 1 white LED and 1AA. Can use Lithium AA. Very respectable output.