Streamlight Key-Mate

JAS

Flashlight Enthusiast
I subscribed a few days ago to Americna Cop Magazine and it includes a Streamlight Key-Mate. I have no experience with these. Would this be worthwhile to keep i n my pocket or are they pretty much worthless? Also, what kind of batteries does this use, are they easy to change, are they expensive, and are they pretty readily available?

carrot

Flashaholic
My dad's got one of these... he paid $20 for it at a LEO store. It's impressively bright for its size on fresh batteries, no idea how long that lasts, though. Dad tells me he can get plenty of these batteries for some spare change down in Chinatown. I can check what kind of batteries they use when I get home.

Steve C

Enlightened
It runs on four "button" cells; like hearing aid batteries, but a tad bigger. The local police supply joint/Streamlight dealer keeps them in stock. Dunno about general availability.

I bought one for the wife, to replace the original ARC AAA she kept mis-placing. I put that one up for a spare for me. Naturally, she has yet to mis-place this Key-Mate.

She's had it over a year, and uses it infrequently. I checked it this week-end; it still puts out good, usable light that equals my ARC. IIRC, it was somewhat brighter than the ARC when new. Its pretty beat-up, too; she's hard on stuff like that (throwing her keys on the nearest handy surface, in the purse, etc.).

Personally, I find it a bit too big in diameter for my sort of pocket carry; nothing beats the ARC there. But for a key ring that doesn't go in a pocket, its ideal.

Blazer

Enlightened
I've got one on my keychain and use it when I return home at night and the wife has left the porch light off, so I can't see the keyhole of the front door.

It runs on 4 L1154 button batteries. There is a name on each "VINNIC" but I don't know what that is.

It's a good little light but not to be relied on for too much other than close quarters dark use.

The_LED_Museum

*Retired*