Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: pics of AA tube for Maglight

Very nice looking work there, Dan.
cool.gif

CNC Dan

Enlightened

Originally posted by Azreal911:
hmmm will this let us overdrive the bulb nicely if we put in nimh's or will it blow the bulb outright. if it'll work nicely especially with nexstar bulbs, i'll take one!
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">I don't know if it will blow a standard bulb.
I was thinking of driving LEDs w/resistors, but now I am going to add a driver circuit(lt1932).

woodbender

Newly Enlightened

CNC Dan,
Did you actually machine the piece on a cnc lathe? If so, what machine are you running and what software do you use? I run Fadal machining centers for a living using Surfcam(converted Smartcam user). We have thought about looking into a small cnc lathe, but I'm not sure if it will happen or not. Now that I'm getting into flashlight mods, I really wish I had a lathe. I used to operate lathes periodically in a previous job, but they were cheap manual lathes. I am considering getting a cheap benchtop lathe for my garage. What model do you recommend? I am not in it for production and it would be for me to custom make my own stuff, so the tolerances can be a lot looser than what I deal with in my job. Any help you can offer is greatly appreciated. If you cnc the part, I'm curious to know the actual run time of the programmed part.
Thanks

Azreal911

Enlightened

hmmm will this let us overdrive the bulb nicely if we put in nimh's or will it blow the bulb outright. if it'll work nicely especially with nexstar bulbs, i'll take one!

remuen

Enlightened

Dan

I already answered your question concerning the LT1932 by return PM ...

I didn't notice what you've made is an extension tube. So I've to change my mind: Driving the LT1932 with 6 LEDs from 3 cells is no problem!

CNC Dan

Enlightened

Originally posted by remuen:
Dan

I already answered your question concerning the LT1932 by return PM ...