Wifey wants to move to Cary, NC

diddy808

Newly Enlightened
Anyone from there? How do you like it? What type of jobs are there? <---that being my biggest concern. I've been working at a hotel on Maui for the past 6 years. The money here has been good, great benefits and I love my work enviorment. Work right now is my biggest hold up.

From what I've seen I really like it. My wife and I are pretty much homebodies and we want a nice place to raise our new baby. Thanks for the input.

Peter

Flying Turtle

Flashaholic
I lived in Cary for about thirty years after finishing college. We moved a couple miles down the road to Apex a few years ago. Wife wanted a new house. Cary and this whole area has been growing like crazy since the late '60's. Population was about 10K when we first got there. Now it's around 100K. It is a very nice "small town". Crime is low and services high. They have handled the growing pains pretty well. Traffic is getting a bit tedious, but it's not too bad yet. With all the growth there are lots of job opportunities, especially in service industries. Just a few miles from Cary/Apex is the Research Triangle where there are many high-tech companies (Cree is one). Jobs in the medical field are plentiful, too. Durham is known as the City of Medicine. Cary has a few hotels and Raleigh (7-10 miles away) has plenty, so there should be jobs available.

I wouldn't necessarily limit myself to just Cary, as the whole Raleigh/Durham/Chapel Hill area has a lot going for it. Housing cost in Cary may be a bit higher than some of the other adjacent towns, but you'll find all levels throughout the area. School systems here are county wide, so all the schools are pretty much equal, and pretty highly rated. I may be a little biased since my wife has made a career in the school system (Wake County Public Schools).