Worth getting a Fenix L1D Rebel???

bigmul

Newly Enlightened
Hi all,

I'm afraid that I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to decent torches, however feel the urge to spend what with it being pay day and all.

I had thought that a D10 would fit the bill perfectly, but then I'd always had a nagging at the back of my mind about Fenix's. I can get a Fenix L1D Rebel for £30 (approx $43) but wonder what people think of this? I know that the newer Cree models are only a tenner more ($57 to our American friends!) but it's so easy to keep saying "well for just this much more I could get...." if you get my drift!

I currently have a couple of Maglites of different sizes and the excellent little 3W Cree Tesco AA torch and fancy something that I can use when wild camping, out and about and something with a low level that won't wake SWMBO when she's in bed and I crawl upstairs.

So...thoughts? - Oh, and thanks in advance!

lrp

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've never owned a Fenix light but have heard nothing but positive things about them. I can tell you that I bought a D10 and for the money would be hard to beat for a edc light!!
It can really put out the lumens on high and I use the lowest setting quite often and with 14500's it can run many hours, I did test mine on high and got over 80 minutes, which is quite amazing to me.

StarHalo

Flashaholic
The Fenix L1D is a solid choice, though I'm not sure how much use you'd get out of it after owning a Nitecore; if you prefer a preset multi-mode interface over the D10's brightness ramp, it could work for you.

The Rebel emitter is warm with a smooth beam profile, it's very good for outdoor use where it brings out nature's colors better than a cool-tint Cree.

The only caveat would be the low mode; the Fenix low is roughly 10 lumens, which is far brighter than the Nitecore minimum. It's not really low enough to preserve your night vision if you're using it in darkness.

bigmul

Newly Enlightened