Anybody into Martial Arts?

guncollector

Enlightened
Preface: I'm not, asides from a few years of Karate in my teens, and again in my 20's. I had a sparring partner for a little while who was a highly-trained Aikido black-belt.

But, these days I've been contemplating squeezing in my already super-busy schedule some training--but don't know which one. I think I've narrowed it down to Brazilian Ju-jitsu, Israeli Krav Maga (sp?), Japanese Aikido, or Bruce Lee's Jeet Kune Do. The hardest part I think is finding a good studio within reasonable driving range.

Opinions?

roguesw

Enlightened
well, aikido is very forgiving on the body in the long term, its less impact, that is the only martial art that i have tried so far,
now i am thinking of getting into kendo and iaido, i heard from my aikido teacher that its good exercise and good toning workout.

BlindedByTheLite

Flashlight Enthusiast
i'm still a wing chun student.. which i've been told is the base for bruce lee's jeet kune do..
i can tell you krav maga is very badass.. i believe it was created by imi lichtenfield, incorperating alot of street fighting.. i recall the name as he was an instructor for the israeli defense force..
it's supposed to be applicable from points of disadvantage..
if you decide to take this i'd think it'd be fruitful to take another martial art also..
jeet kune do might not be ideal, as it's principle is based on the freedom of not having a style at all.. "absorb what is useful, reject what is useless".. altho i find it great for philosophy.. you could base jeet kune do on grappling or striking, or both.. whatever you find the most useful.. also, studying jeet kune do you'll be encouraged to study many other styles.. you should make sure you have a decent amount of time to dedicate to it, both physically and mentally..