EverLED for Maglite 2/4D. Worth it?

tolksee

Newly Enlightened
Hi,

I'm quite new to the world of light-lovers - this is my first post.

I've got a Maglite 4D & 2D. I see that there is an EverLED replacement bulb that I can get for them. Question:
Is it worth getting the EverLED bulb? What would happen?

At the end of the day, I'm only after MORE LIGHT /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif, and I want to keep the ability to go from flood to spot.

Is it worth it? Are there other simple alternatives that you'd recommend over the EverLED? (I'm not a modder!!)

Aloft

Enlightened
I've got a couple white ones and the blow away the stock bulb. I've had a few bulbs burn out on me too, and that problem should go away with the EverLED. The light is a bit brighter, much whiter and uses batteries more sparingly. I think it's worth it. I also have a red EverLED and that is really impressive. . . a very bright red in a 2D Mag. OK, the price is fairly high, but they should last forever.

Amonra

Enlightened
I would recommend a Diamond replacement bulb found here web page you can choose between 1W, 3W or 5W regulated or non regulated. i have both the 1W Diamond (high dome) and the Everled (side emitting) and the Diamond is visibly brighter. the hot spot is also much tighter with a very smooth wide side spill.
Now since you have a 2D/4D Mag you could either choose the regulated 1W on the 2D or the unregulated 3W on the 4D and remove one battery and put a dummy instead. you could also go for the 5W adapter for the 2D but you would loose the focusability.

3rd_shift

Flashlight Enthusiast
www.inretech.com has something for that 4D that will impress for sure.
It's thier Trilight3 kit. 9-12 watts of led glory and about 200+ lumens of light with most batteries.
A bit expensive, but flashoholic grade. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif
edit:
Oops, it won't focus though.

wquiles

Flashaholic